Bikes of Berlin: From Brandenburg Gate to Charlottenburg (Travel Photo Art Book 1) (English Edition) por Laine Cunningham

October 20, 2019

Bikes of Berlin: From Brandenburg Gate to Charlottenburg (Travel Photo Art Book 1) (English Edition) por Laine Cunningham

Titulo del libro: Bikes of Berlin: From Brandenburg Gate to Charlottenburg (Travel Photo Art Book 1) (English Edition)

Autor: Laine Cunningham

Fecha de lanzamiento: September 6, 2018

Editor: Sun Dogs Creations

Bikes of Berlin: From Brandenburg Gate to Charlottenburg (Travel Photo Art Book 1) (English Edition) de Laine Cunningham está disponible para descargar en formato PDF y EPUB. Aquí puedes acceder a millones de libros. Todos los libros disponibles para leer en línea y descargar sin necesidad de pagar más.

Berlin nurtures a true bike culture.

Bikes weave around cars, whirl down sidewalks, and lean against every building. Clusters of bikes are chained to every available post, sign, and handrail.

These humble vehicles are a quintessential part of life in Berlin. Because they’re so embedded in the lifestyle, they reflect a lot about the city and its citizens. Chipped paint, baskets, and even the chains used to secure the bikes speak of the people and the place.

In addition to a vibrant bike culture, Berlin and northeast Germany are striking places for tourism. On offer are a unique blend of architectural styles, a temperate seasonal climate, and a global city for culture, politics, media and science.

Visitors flock to Brandenburg Gate, the Berlin Wall, and the Reichstag building to experience history. Alexanderplatz, a historic meeting place and market, still thrums with world-class shopping, as does Potsdamer Platz. Self-guided tours at the many city parks, palaces like those in Charlottenburg, and monuments like the Memorial to the Murdered Jews balance days spent in the museums.

Berlin’s nightlife and cuisine are renowned worldwide for dishes like currywurst, Buletten or meat Frikadellen, the Berliner doughnut or Pfannkuchen. Wiener schnitzel, Swabian kasespatzle, bockwurst, and of course pretzels can be found at fine dining establishments as well as inexpensive restaurants. The city’s mixed immigrant history expands on traditional German dishes with offerings like lahmajoun and falafel, doner kebab sandwiches, Brazilian rodizio, tabbouleh and hummus.

Travel tips and facts about wildlife, food, rental cars, camping, adventures, travel and tourism, and cultural tours are easy enough to find on travel sites like Expedia or Travelocity. Entire trips can be planned using guidebooks like those from Lonely Planet. Now visitors to Germany can expand their knowledge base with an artist’s view of Berlin.

During a two-month stay, Laine Cunningham discovered that each of Berlin’s many bikes had its own personality. While visiting the neighborhoods of Friedrichshain, Kreuzberg, Mitte, Prenzlauer Berg and more, she shot photos of single bicycles and clusters of bikes that conveyed a special vibe.

The thirty full-color photos in this book are paired with evocative titles that bring you the essence of the Bikes of Berlin.

For fans of The Book Thief, The Reader, The Boy in the Striped Pajamas, The Spy Who Came in from the Cold, Those Who Save Us, The Sorrows of Young Werther, Every Man Dies Alone, The Metamorphosis, Steppenwolf, All Quiet on the Western Front, Stones from the River, Buddenbrooks, The Neverending Story, The Odessa File, Frankenstein, The Good Soldier, All the Light We Cannot See, Perfume, Slaughterhouse Five, Candide, The Clown, Half-Blood Blues, Skeletons at the Feast, Fatherland, The Baker’s Daughter, The Gargoyle, and The Hangman’s Daughter.